Armed Security- Tennessee or Arkansas
USA Training Academy will ensure that all training materials are provided:
The State of Tennessee/Private Protective Services now requires ALL "NEW and RENEWING" students to register and use their new online portal for applying for a new armed license and renewing your Armed licenses. You must complete all applications and upload all required documents and pay all State fees through this new portal in order to obtain or renew your license.
If you do not have a computer or internet, you may call (901) 826-4764 for an appointment and we will assist you with your online application. The fee for this personal assistance is $20. However, you must have an e-mail address in order to register for the State’s new portal and a credit or debit card to pay your state fee.
Please use the link below to complete all State of Tennessee Private Protective Services application requirements after you have completed your training and received the e-mail from us with your digital copy of your training form and photo.
Armed Guard Classes are a 16 hour/2 day course, required by the State of Tennessee to become an armed guard. You must be 21 years old to become an armed guard.
The Armed Guard License is gun specific, so you must qualify with the same Make, Model and Caliber gun you will be using on the Job.
Fees to the State:
Armed Guard License Fee……….$105.00
Digital Fingerprint Fee.. $32.65
The State of Tennessee now requires all applications and documents/photos are to be uploaded to the new online system. If you have trouble using the online system, you are welcome to make an appointment with us after you have completed your training, and you have the additional items listed below. We will be glad to help you fill out the online application and upload all required documents and photos as soon as you have collected them all;
– Proof of Training from USA Training Academy
– Your Color Photo from USA Training Academy
– Digital Finger Print Receipt (we scan this for you)
– DD214 (If you have ever been in the military)
– Court Clerk Certified Final Disposition of any arrests.
– Proof of Citizenship Documents if you immigrated to the United States such as a Green Card
– Credit Card / Debit Card
*State fees are subject to change without notice.
Shooting targets are provided as well as eye & ear protection for all students.
What do I need to bring?
A quality handgun 9mm or larger caliber is recommended with 50 rounds of factory ammunition (reloads are fine). Firearms can be rented as well as ammunition can be purchased.
These courses are required by the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance to obtain an Unarmed or Armed Security Guard License. They cover the Tennessee
Private Protective Services Law and Rules book and follow the guidelines set forth by the state.
This course is for those that want an armed guard license. It is conducted over two days.
Topics include orientation, legal powers, and limitations of a security guard, emergency procedures, general duties, firearm handling, safety and maintenance, marksmanship training, legal limitations on the use of a firearm, patrolling, and more. There is a written test and firearm qualification on the range.